Bye, bye big, plain, no personality malls!

I was hoping I’d say this when I’d finally decide to wear exclusively my own creations, but that’ll take another year or nine, since I so far have only two skirts, a dress and a blouse and I haven’t touched the sewing machine in weeks. But now I have another plan!

I was complimenting someone on her blouse a few days back, when she told me she got it from a “vintage shop”. Here I thought…well, I don’t really know what I thought but I know I didn’t first realize she was talking about a second hand store.

I said it before and I’m going to say it again. Where I live (and I’m pretty sure everywhere) people are obsessed with labels because they think a great label will give them extra value.  Thing is, I hate it when I see people wearing expensive clothes and not having a style. Or worse, wearing clothes just because they’re expensive when they have nothing to do with your body.

So after intensive reasearch I’ve decided to try the local Humana because a. it was the closest store, about five minutes from where I live; b. it has two floors, so it’s pretty big and c. they have a nice website and a good cause.

I really didn’t expect to find anything, but to my surprise there were plenty of great things there. So I left with a very posh blouse and a great dress. The label said they were washed at 100 degrees for 30 minutes and I washed them again when I got home. I have never done this.  Never had I thought I’d be doing this. But thinking about it…it’s pretty much the only way I can find the gems I was looking for. Because having a wardrobe with too many clothes, I have to be really picky and actually fall in love with a piece before buying it.

The title was a bit too much, because I can’t say for sure I won’t be going into a mall anymore. There will be things I will need, that I won’t find in a second hand store.  So, if you’ve never done it before, just go into the nearest “vintage” store and check it out.  Maybe you’ll be surprised! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

